ASBTIA is the peak body representing Southern Bluefin Tuna ranching companies in Australia. The Association has 8 member companies, which is 100% of the local industry.

History of the Tuna Association

The Association began in 1978 as the Tuna Boat Owners of South Australia. Members of the TBOA borrowed heavily to rationalise the industry after quotas were introduced in 1984, as the initial 14,500 tonne quota was well below the catch levels of the 1980’s.

The introduction of fully tradeable Individual Transferable Quotas (ITQs) in 1984-5 resulted in major transfer of quota and fishing rights from the states of New South Wales and Western Australia to South Australia. In 1997, over 85% of the Australian quota was owned by Port Lincoln operators, with over 95% of the Australian catch remaining under their control today.

Membership of the Association

Almost all Southern Bluefin Tuna quota holders and fishers in Australia belong to the Australian Southern Bluefin Tuna Industry Association (ASBTIA), formally referred to as the Tuna Boat Owners Association of Australia (TBOA). Individuals and companies holding statutory fishing rights (commonly known as SFRs) in the Southern Bluefin Tuna fishery can be a member of ASBTIA. The industry has consolidated since 2012, with 13 companies becoming 8.